Girls Review

Source: wikipedia

Girls is an American TV Show, on HBO created by Lena Dunham. Wikipedia summarizes it as a ‘comedy-drama following a close group of twenty somethings living in New York City’ and it has recently been renewed for a third season

Source: Chateline.com

Cast: 

Hannah Horvath – Lena Dunham

Hannah is an aspiring writer with low self-worth and some say a self-indulgent personality. She has just been cut of by her parents, fired from her internship and is involved in an unstable relationship with Adam Sackler.

‘I just want someone who wants to hang out all the time and thinks I am the best person in the world and wants to have sex with only me.’ – Hannah 

Marnie Michaels – Allison Williams 

Marnie is the pretty girl, with a boyfriend who adores her and who she finds boring. She has a stable job and is the responsible one, and can be seen as borderline arrogant.

“Sometimes being stuck in my own head is so exhausting it makes me want to cry.” – Marnie

Jessa Johansson – Jemima Kirke 

Jessa is the bohemian, a traveler, who is flighty, impulsive and independent. She has little thought of the consequences of her actions and this can cause problems.

“You know what the weirdest part about having a job is? You have to be there everyday, even on the days you don’t feel like it.” – Jessa

Shoshona Shariro – Zosia Mamet 

Soshona is innocent, ditzy and talkative. She is a virgin and this is a big problem for her, her sexuality confuses her and causes her stress.

“I’m like the least virgin-y virgin ever!” – Shoshanna

Review 

I was introduced to Girls by a friend and decided to check it out, it had been described as our generations Sex and The City so it couldn’t be to bad right? I was pleasantly surprised, I thoroughly enjoyed the first season. As someone who is stuck in between jobs, balancing University, family, friends and a relationship did I relate to these characters? Yes, there is a little bit of each of these characters, Hannah’s dreams, Marnie’s seriousness, Jessa’s unpredictability and Shoshona’s innocence. I have to admit it is much more realistic than Sex and the City or maybe just more relatable to a twenty something student who has no clue what she wants to do with her life?

It is funny and refreshing, there is nothing like it out there at the moment. It awkwardly tramples through topics that no one else discusses, STI’s and sex in a way that the generation it is aimed at relates to it. I know how easy it is to spend hours procrastinating, how much of a mess my head is, fitting in and generally trying to survive, and Lena Dunham portrays this excellently.

I preferred the first season to the second, purely because I feel the second series was very choppy going from one thing to the next in one episode that seemed rushed. It did highlight major issues that affect this generation but it became decidedly dark and for me unneeded at times. Everyone had so many issues that I just wanted to end. That said I watched the entire season and am hoping the third season will be a bit more chipper like the first.

Verdict: 4 out of 5 

One thought on “Girls Review

Leave a Reply

