Graduation

On the 18th July I became a Graduate … I keep saying I feel wise like an owl, I don’t think I am but something did click that I actually completed my education and I did well. I now have a Bachelor of Arts in Media Arts and Film and Popular Culture.

What I wore …

Screen shot 2013-07-19 at 22.51.41

Dress in navy blue from Primark £13.00

Belt cream with rose gold detailing from Primark approx £3.00

Watch from Marc Jacobs (Present)

Earrings diamond studs (present)

Shoes from Aldo £60 in cream (x)

I had simple make up, eyeliner, mascara, blush and foundation with a pink lip, I curled my hair and then back combed it slightly and pinned half of it back.

I was listening to a bit of Bruno Mars, The Breakdown and Don Broco while I got ready, having a bit of a dance while doing my hair.

The Ceremony …

20130720_224528

The ceremony started with the procession of staff, followed by the fanfare when the Principal made his speech and Service of Thanksgiving by the Reverend and a hymn. Then there was a reading from the Letter of St Paul to the Ephesians 4:1-7, 11-13 followed by The Lords Prayer, Graduation Prayer and a blessing. Finally we had the conferment of degrees and awards and we finished with Vice Principal’s speech and the recessional prayer. You have to bear in mind that St Mary’s is a Catholic university and that was reflected in the ceremony. It lasted a little over 2 hours so it wasn’t to bad over all just warm.

The ceremony took place at Westminster Cathedral at 14.30 the last of three ceremonies held that day and boy was it hot. My  Mum, Dad, Nana, Grampa and little brother came with me and we got the train up to Westminster. As my last name is T  had to wait a while for my name to get called. Our University colours are blue and white so that was the colour of our cape and the mortar board (cap) and gown were black.

DSCN1420

 

I obviously had all my friends from my class but a few of my friends from other courses were in my ceremony as well which was nice, some of my other close friends were in the earlier ceremony as well as my old house mates which was sad as it would have been nice to see them.

DSCN1425

DSCN1442

 

This is my and my friend Emily before the ceremony, and my Nina and Rush (this was after the ceremony so we were all a bit hot and my fringe had fallen down in the breeze as the photo had been taken.

DSCN1413

 

My brother tried on the mortar board, said he was practicing for when he graduates, apart from mine barely fit on his head because I have a really small head and he does not.

IMG_1919

  IMG_1922

Me and my grandparents and me and my parents, I am extremely grateful for all the support and love they have shown me over the last few years and wouldn’t have been able to do it without them especially my dad who supported me and proof read all my essays which definitely paid off.

IMG_1921

I couldn’t help but put this one in, my dad trying to be cool and take a selfie with me.

One thought on “Graduation

Leave a Reply

