Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohen Book Review …

Screen shot 2013-11-14 at 14.15.58

Blurb: At the urge of her lucky-in-love brother, sixteen year old Lily has left a red notebook full of dares on her favourite bookshelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept. 
Curious, snarky Dash isn’t one to back down from a challenge – and the Book of Dares is the perfect thing to keep him occupied this Christmas. 
As they send each other on a snowbound scavenger hunt across Manhattan, they’re falling for each other on paper.But finding out if their real selves share their on-page chemistry could be their biggest dare yet. 

I love love loved this books, I read it in one day and had a four-hour shift at work in between. I saw the movie Nick and Norah’s infinite playlist which is an adaptation of the novel of the same name by the same authors (Rachel Cohen and David Levithan) and saw this one on something or other. I then went into The Works because I was sad and when I am sad I buy books and saw this for £2.99. I snapped it up. As it based around Christmas I wanted to read it in December but I have a few other novels that I am going to read in that month.

Dash is snarky, slightly pretentious, loves books and from what comes across probably insanely good-looking, so my type of guy then. I loved the way the characters was written he had a bit of bite which was great. A sappy hero he was not. I like Dash slightly more than Lily but she is the typical slightly weird child and I felt like that in high school so I can definitely relate to her in that sense and she’s a bit kooky which I always like my heroines to be. All the characters in this book are so well written that you can’t help but fall in love with them or hate them with a burning passion depending on who they are.

The plot is quick paced and doesn’t hang around, its cute and romantic and makes you want to read on and on (like I mentioned earlier I read it in one day I think it took me about 3 or 4 hours to read through) it made me laugh and my gut clench when you something you don’t want to happen may happen or not. They only thing I didn’t quite get was the whole Crimson alert/Baby saving thing that went on. I don’t know if it was really necessary to the plot, it was a little bit over dramatic if not quite entertaining for comedy value, regardless it didn’t affect how much I enjoyed this book so I will let it slide.

I would recommend this book, it is definitely going to be one of my favourite books. If you want something to read over Christmas or a stocking filler for a teenager, this books would be great. It is endearing, funny and cute and you will totally fall in love with it.

P.S Lena Durham is working on the movie adaptation of the book (X)

3 thoughts on “Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohen Book Review …

Leave a Reply

