Calling Mrs Christmas by Carole Matthews Book Review …

IMG_2442

Blurb: Cassie Smith has been out of work for a while but she has an idea. Drawing on her love of Christmas, she begins charging for small things: wrapping presents; writing cards; tree-decorating. She’s soon in huge demand and Cassie’s business, Calling Mrs Christmas, is born.
Carter Randall wants to make Christmas special for his children so he enlists Cassie’s help, and his lavish requests start taking up all her time. Thank goodness she can rely on her partner Jim to handle the rest of her clients.
When Carter asks Cassie to join them on a trip to Lapland, she knows she shouldn’t go. As much as tries, Cassie can’t deny how drawn she is to Carter and everything he has to offer, but she still loves her warm-hearted Jim. Suddenly Cassie finds herself facing a heart-breaking choice that could change her entire life.

I know this book review is a little out of season but I suppose if you want to drag Christmas out a little longer a christmas book might do it. That being said it may be the perfect time to get your Christmas books for next year as I saw this book on sale for half price at my local  Waterstones today. Any way let us continue

I really wanted to read something seasonal this year and I was actually quite looking forward to Christmas this year, so I went into ASDA and this book caught my eye and it was completely different from the Christmas Carol which I read every year and gets a little tedious.

I started this book and was a little dubious about whether or not I was going to enjoy it as I usually enjoy a bit of chick lit as it is not my usual reading material. It started of a little bit slow and it made me leave it for a couple of weeks, but I decided to persevere as it had such good reviews on GoodReads. So I ploughed on and in the end couldn’t put it down reading it well into the night.

I like that it is not a completely fluffy, candy sweet novel and there are moments where you see the struggle the characters are facing, financially, emotionally and morally. I loved the characters of Jim, Cassie’s partner and how much of a truly good man he was.  I liked Cassie most of the time there was moments in which I wanted to smack her but overall the way it ended was the way it should and I was a happy reader. What I liked  about her most was that as much as she had been made redundant and hadn’t known what to do with herself you see her pick her self back up and throw herself into her new venture and really make something of her business and it gives her an enthusiasm and festive spirit that makes the reader want to go and try all these grand decoration ideas. I also like the characters of the two boys which Jim takes under his wing Rozzer and Smudge who really just needed a bit of love.

The story has ups and downs and surprises around the corner, which are not entirely obvious but it a heartwarming story, and I will definitely be reading it again next year, and would recommend it to anyone who likes a good chick lit novel with a Christmas theme. It truly makes you believe Christmas is the time for miracles.

Verdict: 4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

