The Iron King By Julie Kagawa Book Review

photo (12)

Blurb: Something has aways felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fitted in at school …or at home. When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar and her little brother is taken, Meghan senses everything she’s known is about to change. She could never have guessed the truth Meghan is the daughter of the faery king and a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will have to choose between a normal life and her magical destiny – and between her best friend and a darkly dangerous prince. It’s time for Meghan to enter the faery world … 

MILD SPOILERS

As you have probably guessed I like YA Fantasy books, I have never read anything with faeries being the central creature so I thought I would give this a try. I have heard a few mixed reviews, so I wanted to read them for myself before I made up my mind. I was lucky enough that my parents bought me The Iron King, The Iron Daughter, The Iron Queen and The Iron Knight for Christmas and the ebook’s are quite cheap on amazon and The Winter Passage is the first ebook I have actually purchased.

The Iron King is the first novel in the series, I have to admit I didn’t really know how to approach this novel. I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it. That being said I decided the best way to find out was getting stuck in. The beginning of the novel I wasn’t to sure about to be honest, It was probably because it was setting the scene for the story. I was unsure about the references to Shakespeare’s A Mid Summer’s Night Dream and the portrayal of Titania and Oberon. What surprised me the most was the slightly vulgar references over raping satyrs, I wasn’t expecting it and that made me want to give the story another chance (not that I wanted to read about satyr rape)

I actually put post-it notes throughout the book to help me write this review, (I regret nothing) and at about page 170 the book really starts to pick up. The action really begins to pick up at around this point and is pretty much constant, maybe at this point we meet Ash; the winter prince and Meghan’s love interest who is dark, brooding, handsome and dangerous what more could one ask for. I actually really like Meghan’s character, she isn’t a perfect heroine she can’t automatically use her power and that is a refreshing change from most YA heroines that automatically use whatever “special” ability they have. Although she does get caught/kidnapped one too many times and that grated me slightly.

Overall I did like the book, and am looking forward to the rest of the books in the series which I hope will be just as good. I wasn’t overwhelmed with the book straight away but that being said it is only the first in a series so the world does have to be established. There are obviously arcs in the series that have yet to be resolved and I am interested to see the conclusion of those. I love the investment of Julie Kagawa has placed into the series, writing novella’s and short scenes in different perspectives to expand the series and world. As the novel is written from Meghan’s point of view this scene from Ash’s point of view (X) it really helped you to understand his character development

Leave a Reply

