Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Book Review

Screen shot 2015-02-22 at 14.54.37

Blurb: Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

I had such high expectations of this novel, I heard such good things about it over BookTube and it has a 4.20 rating on Goodreads. I kind of put off reading it because I didn’t want to be disappointed. I asked for it for Christmas so I thought I would just suck it up and read it and see what everyone was talking about. I was not disappointed, if anything I didn’t want it to end. I WANT MORE !!!!

The plot fits well into the contemporary fiction category – girl moves to Uni, meets handsome boy and falls in love. The situations that Cath finds herself in throughout the novel are not exaggerated or ridiculous. They are normal situations, that anyone could experience. It wasn’t particularly action packed plot and I was kind annoyed that there were moments that could have been developed more and given the story a good twist. That being said it wasn’t like I wasn’t interested in the plot, I read the book in three days and it definitely kept my attention I didn’t want to put it down.

Source: weheartit.com

I love Cath she reminds me so much of what I was like when I first went to university (I will call it university because I am British and that is what we call it). She is not your normal heroine, she isn’t self-confident and aware of her beauty. She has to face so much throughout the story but she conquers it. I love her character she is quirky and awkward and cute, and you can see the personal growth her character goes on and that is the main plot point. Rowell wrote a character you can relate to.

Source:tumblr.com

OH MY GOD, I have such a fictional crush on Levi. He is so endearing as a character. Levi is not the typical hot guy with rippling muscles and the star of the football team. He has flaws and makes mistakes which I think makes him more likeable, more human which can be a problem with some contempry romance heros. He genuinely tried hard to win her over, make Cath trust him, make her feel comfortable and reassure her.

Source: weheartit.com

I like Reagan because she doesn’t judge Cath, she accepts Cath for all her idiosyncrasies. She cares in her own Reagan like way, it may not be a conventional friendship but its nice. She is the catalyst for Cath learning that there are other people besides her sister that can will be there for her, and obviously without Reagan Cath wouldn’t have met Levi. I don’t know if I really like Wren as a character, I don’t have a twin so I don’t know about the dynamic of a twin, but I wasn’t her biggest fan either.

tumblr

Overall, this book is amazingly good, not perfect but really good and I want to read more of Rainbow Rowell’s books, especially Eleanor and Park, (depending on my finances when I finish this post I may treat myself). If you love contemporary then you will love this book. If you don’t read a lot of contemporary novels, I am one of those people. This book is a great read to ease you in to the contemporary genre. I would definitely recommend this novel and will definitely re-read it. I think these gifs sum up my feelings over the course of the book.

Source: otomesweetheart.tumblr.com

Source: reactiongifs.com

4 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Book Review

Leave a Reply

