The Bookworm Tag …

Source: papertownd.tumblr.com

I like to read … did you know that ??? I love books and reading, so I thought I would share with you The Bookworm Tag and share my opinions on books I am going to tag Confessions of a Serial Hooker to do this tag as well as anyone else who wants to (comment with a link I will read it)

Do you remember how you developed a love for reading?

My parents and grandparents always encouraged me to read,my dad would take me and my little brother to the library every weekend and I would be able to choose a book, but I really fell in love with reading thanks to my English Literature teacher, she recommended so many wonderful books and taught me how to fall in love with books.

Where do you usually read?

I’ll read pretty much anywhere, but usually on the sofa or bed because I can snuggle into the cushions and blankets for a while. I am one of those people who will read pretty much anywhere the only place I will not read is in the car because it gives me a headache.

Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once?

One book at a time, always. I don’t understand how you can read more than one book at a time. I feel like it is like cheating (I know, its strange), but that being said If I am reading a novel then I want to fully engage with the plot and characters and reading more than one book at a time I can’t fully immerse myself into the book and I that is what reading is all about.

What is your favourite genre?

YA Fantasy, I love the supernatural and fantastical creatures and powers. I think it is fascinating, I tend to drift between epic and urban fantasy because I like both of them in their own ways. I love the history in epic fantasies but the reality of urban fantasies. I will always be a sucker for a good love story and most of the books I read tend to have a romantic element to them.

Is there a genre you will not read?

There isn’t one I will not try once, I tend to go by the book on its own merit. I won’t dismiss a book simply on its genre I don’t think that is the way to read books. There will always be genres you will prefer. I do tend to avoid true life stories about abduction and things like that.

Do you have a favourite book?

Not really, but I am a big fan of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen  and Just Kids by Patti Smith.

What is your least favourite book?

I really didn’t enjoy The Vampire Diaries by LJ Smith, I didn’t even finish it, I just hated the way into was written, and I used to really enjoy the TV Series as well, but I was disappointed. If I don’t think I will enjoy a book I tend to avoid getting it just because it would be a waste of money.

What is the longest book you have ever read?

Probably  The Clash of Kings by George RR Martin, the second book in A Song of Ice and Fire series. The book was looooong. I did really enjoy it and I am determined to read the rest of the series despite only having read the first two in the series. Or the last Harry Potter book.

What was the last book you bought?

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and The Murder Room by PD James.

Do you prefer library books or buying books?

I like buying books, I don’t tend to go to the library anymore as I like owning a physical copy of the book I am reading. They have relocated the library in town and made it all fancy and new so I went their monday and took out a copy of Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

Source: blog.publush.com

What are you currently reading?

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov.

Where do you buy your books?

I buy my books anywhere and everywhere, book stores, supermarket, online, charity shops and markets.

Do you ever pre-order books?

There are a couple of books I will pre order this year but I don’t really bother. I usually fail to see the point I used to pre-order on amazon and I got my item on the day of release and last time I had to wait a lot longer for it and I wasn’t impressed so I will not be bothering from now on.

How many books do you buy a month?

It varies, but I will buy at least 3 -5 books a month as I tend to frequent charity shop after pay day to see if there is anything I can get or The Works, that shop is both my friend and my enemy.

Do you use your local library?

No, my closest one is very small but after doing this tag I have an urge to go on my next day off. I used to frequent my university and town libary often for text books when I was studying.

What do you think of library books?

They are a brilliant way of trying out a book you are dubious about it or a genre. Sometimes they can be very damaged and I do not like that as I believe that you should treat books with respect but also it isn’t your property so you should take care of it. That being said most of the books I have gotten out of the library are simply damaged with age.

How do you feel about second hand charity shop books?

I LOVE THEM. I have no issues with buying second hand books, I recently bought two books that I would have had to spend £20 each online for a £1 each and they are in a remarkable condition (even after I spilt my coffee over one of them). I actively troll through charity shops in my area for books, as some you can get that have never been read.

Do you keep your read and to-be-read books together?
My book shelved are a free for all of books I kind of just throw them on in a semi organised manner, but as I have unfinished series I don’t want to separate them as I hate the way that looks of my shelves.
Do you plan to read all the books you own?
Of course, I didn’t buy them to not be read.

What do you do with books you own that you know won’t be re-read?

It depends some I will keep because I may want to re-read it in the future but I rarely get rid of books, if I know I will never read it again I will give it to charity or a friend/ family member to read if they wanted it

Have you ever donated books?

Yes, I have a given a few away, I have only recently really started collecting books but there are some I know I would never read again so, if I can donate them and someone else can enjoy them then great. I only ever really sell text books.

Have you ever been on a book buying ban?

I try …  I try so hard I do, I do but I don’t do very well. I tend to think no I won’t but any books this month and I break it. That begins said I am determined to not buy any in April as it is my birthday in May and I will be asking for books for my birthday.

Do you think you own too many books?

One can never own too many books !!!!!! I will have ceiling to floor selves full of books when I have my own house.

Source: hopestillfloats.wordpress.com/

 

2 thoughts on “The Bookworm Tag …

Leave a Reply

