H is for Happy & Healthy …

I am sorry that this post is a week late, I was feeling very ill last week and having severe hay fever didn’t make it any better. I honestly spent most of the day in bed (after dragging my butt out of bed at 6.00 to go to a boot fair with Amy; was an epic disappointment). To make up for that I am going to do two H’s.

H is for Happy. 

Source: aweebritish.tumblr.com

I am not saying that I am happy all the time, I can honestly say that I get those sad, lonely moments that totally suck and make you feel absolutely horrid but that being said there are those special things and moments that make me happy and those are the things that I like to focus on. I am a very family orientated person and my family as much as most of time they make me want to pull my hair out and question me about just about everything, do you have a job yet? You seeing anyone yet? However they make me happy because I know that they do it from love and are only trying to take an interest in my life. I am very close to my family and I love them dearly and know I can trust them to support me in whatever I decide to do.

Source: Jean Hill: Jean, Nan, Mum Me Lauren, Sofie and Eileen

I love my friends, they never fail to make me laugh, I told you about Amy in my F is for Friends post (X),  but I do have more than one friend, I made a lot of close friends in the last year or so while working at Debenhams, Michael, Hannah, Megan, Matty and Giuseppe are some of the closest friends I have. Even if Michael is like an annoying little brother, I would never change them  for the world.

IMG_0335

Michael, Hannah, Megan, Amy

Those small things that make you smile, the cute little text messages from the boy you are seeing, the sun coming out, loosing yourself in a book, those things that you enjoy, I think it is important that you can find and have these things that will make you happy. For all those things you need to be happy with yourself, I know how hard it is to be happy with yourself and it can be a struggle. I am not saying you can just be happy with you but find something that makes you happy, be it a place, a band, something that can be insignificant to the rest of the world but if it means something good to you then you need to hold on to that; throw away all the toxic things in the past and focus on the future.

H is for Healthy.

Being healthy is really important to me, I suffer from M.E or Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, I was diagnosed when I was 11. So to keep the fatigue at bay and all my vitamin and mineral levels good I always aim to have a healthy lifestyle. That doesn’t mean to say that I am super healthy, I mean I know I could loose a few pounds and thats okay, but I try to have a balanced diet, exercise regularly and be active and not spend all my time on the internet (last one is hard).

Diet …

My diet is not perfect, but that being said I try to eat more veg and salad than carbs, and stick to wholemeal instead of white  (which is really hard as I really am not a fan of wholemeal). I try and eat salad at least once a day and have fruit or cereal for breakfast with pro-biotic yoghurt (which is meant to be really good for weight loss, I have been told and I am trying it out) and I have cut out carbonated drinks unless I go out or it is a sunday (I tend to drink carbonated drinks on my lunch break I get really tired). I don’t really go out drinking anymore but tend to leave having a drink on the weekends.  I drink a lot of tea and try to cut down on my caffeine intake. That being said I will treat myself to a slice of cake or a can of coke, its not going to kill me. I am firm believer of moderation is key.

Source: gethealthygetsexy.tumblr.com

Exercise …

I am one of the worst people when it mean getting up for  the gym in the morning because I can’t be bothered to walk there and most of the time it is bloody expensive. YouTube has become my best friend when it comes to working out at home, as I have mentioned previously I have recently started Yoga (sometimes Pilates) and I love it but I wanted to be more active and as a dancer Zumba videos are brilliant way to work out. I don’t have to leave the house or fork out an excessive amount of money the only thing I bought was my yoga mat and that is something I don’t have to pay for every month.

Active …

Getting out of the house and being active is always a bit of a struggle for me, as I currently only work one day a week, I don’t have to get out of the house for work that is why I try to get out of the house each day, I go for a walk, go to ASDA with my mum, stuff like that, there are days I don’t do anything but getting out in the fresh air for 20 minutes is better than nothing.

Source: gethealthygetsexy.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

