May Birchbox …

box 1

I feel like I am constantly apologising for late posts at the moment, I seem to have lots of time and no time at all currently. I am going to try to make this as quick and painless for all of us over the next few days. So back to the point, I was unsure about my first Birchbox and when I saw that they were doing a collaboration with Harper’s Bazar I decided to try it again. I am still not 100% sure about them but I also got a Lovemebeauty box as well (post coming) so I will compare. I wasn’t unhappy with the products but there were definitely ones I would have preferred to try than the ones I got (I don’t really need more shampoo and conditioner) but alas we shall continue …

box products

Benefit Cosmetics “They’re Real Mascara” (RRP £19.50) … I have always been intrigued by Benefit products and was excited to try this out. The first time I used it I wasn’t really impressed, it didn’t seem to really do much which disappointed me  as I have heard so many good things about this product. I used it again and it worked a lot better and only flaked a little after a long day at work. I am going to continue to use this product to compare it to my newest mascara the Sleek Lethal Length Mascara.

mascara

Soigné Nail Lacquer (RRP £11.00) … I LOVE THIS !!! I got the shade “permission”  the orangey one I was a little disappointed as it wasn’t really a colour I would wear but I tried it regardless and the colour was lovely it had a red tinge to it so it wasn’t too extreme and it lasted roughly a week before I needed to take it off. I have a feeling I will be treating my self to this brand if I want a higher quality

nail varnish

Aromatherapy Associates “Revive Morning Bath and Shower Oil (RRP £39) … I haven’t tried this product yet but it smells really nice, the size is tiny so you’ll probably get only 1-2 uses out of it. As I don’t have a bath I wouldn’t want to use it in the shower as I’ll probably drop it knowing my luck. It say’s on the sheet that its great for jet lag, which I can totally see working. For 55ml would I spend £39 I am not sure. I also got a little set of their facial products in Elle magazine which I am excited to try out.

oil

Beauty Protector “Protect & Shampoo” and “Protect & Condition” (RRP £14.00 each) … I have pretty thick hair so I can generally get away with most types of shampoo and I don’t use much heat on it (personal preference as I used to dye my hair I avoided heat) I prefer heatless methods to style my hair but anything that is used to protect your hair is always a bonus. I am sure they will be pretty good but I’ll probably keep them for a weekend away.

shampoo and conditioner

Liz Earle Beauty Co. “Cleanse and Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser” (RRP, From £13.50) … Who hasn’t heard of this product, my skin is soft and cleansed after using it and is soothing and ideal to use after a long day at work. To be honest for the price I think it is worth it. When my current one runs out I am going to treat myself to a full-sized version of this products.

liz earle

So all in all, I wasn’t displeased with my box but I don’t think I will be getting them every month I just don’t think I can financially afford it right now, but I was happy to try the mascara, cleanser and nail varnish. I still have the jury out on the Benefit mascara and will re-try it again next time I go out to really try it. I also have two new beauty favourites in Liz Earle Cleanser and Soigné nail Varnish

Leave a Reply

