Top 10 Books of 2014

10. American Vampire  by Jennifer Armintrout

Goodreads

Graf is a vampire and the first visitor in Penance, Ohio in five years where he meets Jessa. No one can get out of the town and supplies are running low and there is a monster in the woods.

I picked up this book thinking it was by a different author. I was kind of dubious about the story when I first started it but as I got into it I read it pretty quickly. It is an easy read and the premise is a good idea and as it is a stand alone novel which actually disappointed me as I didn’t want  it to end.

 

9. Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Goodreads

Gwen is always in her cousin Charlotte’s shadow. When the secret time travel gene gets passed down to her instead of Charlotte, she has to navigate her way through this new world. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon; her travelling companion journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

I read this book after I saw the film and I throughly enjoyed the idea and the books get better as the series progresses I think the idea is something we don’t really see a lot of and I want to try to find some more books with a time travelling theme.

Check out my review here

8. Carrie by Stephen King

Goodreads

Carrie White is the school misfit, she is opressed by her mother and mocked by her peers. Something is different about Carrie, Carrie can move things with her mind. After a prank gone wrong and Carrie’s invitation to the Prom. What could go wrong?

This is my  first attempt at a Stephen King novel, Carrie is relatively short so i thought it would be a nice starting point as a lot of his books are dauntingly large. OMG he has such a unique style and I was so drawn into the novel. I liked the movie, and it was a great representation of the book so I was very impressed.

7. Severed Heads, Broken Hearts by Robyn Schneider

Goodreads

After a tragic accident Ezra Faulkner, looses his golden boy status and gets a new outlook on life. He joins the ‘misfits’ and finds a new love but is there more tragedy to come?

This book gets  a lot of mixed reviews. I really liked this book I think it was because it is from the male protagonists POV. It is a coming of age story yes but it isn’t all sunshine and rainbows. I like the protagantists development and the way he is written.

Check out my review here

6. Howls Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

Goodreads

Sophie is the eldest of three daughters, and is unfortunately cursed by the Witch of the Waste. Howl is her only chance of breaking the spell, she makes a deal with a fire demon and she discovers there is more to herself that she originally thought.

This is the only children’s book on my list, I didn’t actually realise it was a book until I came across it in a charity shop. I thought it was just the anime (which I love). This such a vivid world filled with colourful characters.

5. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

Goodreads

Lily leaves a notebook full of dares on the bookshelf at her favourite book store. Dash finds the book of dares and the pair swaps dares across a snow covered manhattan. The question is can they get along as well in real life as they do on paper.

I love this novel and it never takes me more than a day or two to finish it. The characters are perfectly opposite and the vibrant way that they are written makes me smile. They are the typical geek girl and posh intellectual male characters but Coh and Levithan make them multi-dimensional.

Check out my review here

4. Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

Goodreads

As Tessa Gray travels to London in search of her brother, she gets kidnapped and finds out that she isn’t as normal as she first thought. She is thrown into the world of demons, warlocks, vampires and Shadowhunters as she searches for answers. There are also two very interesting boys that may or may not steal her heart.

My favourite book in the series is the third novel but I am going to write about the first. I prefered this to Clare’s other novels in this universe The Mortal Instruments. I love the steampunk elements of the novel and the characters were well rounded and interesting. I love the twists and I cried at the ending of the last book and few novels have that effect on me.

Check out my Infernal Devices review here

3. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Goodreads

Cath is a Simon Snow fan. She writes fan fiction. As Cath moves away to Uni, her twin sister pulls away from her leaving her feeling abandoned. Cath is on her own and completely out of her comfort zone. Can she make new friends with her surly room mate and her ever so charming boyfriend. As well as navigate through a class where her lecturer thinks fan fiction is the lowest form of writing.

I LOVE this book, the only reason it is at number 3 is as I feel that some of the plot points could be expanded upon to tie up loose ends. I love Cath and Levi they are literally two of my favourite fictional characters around. Cath reminds me so much of myself when I first went to university and Levi is all kinds of adorable.

Check out my review here

2. Love and Misadventure  by Lang Leav

Goodreads

Full of beautiful art Love and Misadventure will take you on a rollercoaster ride through an ill-fated love affair- from the initial butterflies to the soaring heights- through to the devastating plunge.

I couldn’t leave this list without a poetry anthology. I am a massive poetry fan but since my A Levels have neglected to read a lot of poems. This was the book that reignited my love of poetry. The poems aren’t long and dull they are vibrant and passionate.

1.  Saga

Goodreads

When two soldiers from opposite sides on an intergalactic war fall in love, they will risk everything to bring a fragile new life into the world while running from both sides of the war.

Saga is the graphic novel of the year and it has been raved about over BookTube. I was really intrigued by the idea and haven’t really read many graphic novels but this has changed my mind about the medium. The images are so well done, the story is fantastic and the characters are brilliant and full of life.

Leave a Reply

