Homemade Shortbread …

IMG_3780

As it is a Sunday, it is time to relax and I love to bake it is one of my favourite things to do and as I am British there is nothing more than some lovely shortbread. You can buy them all over the shop now day but there is nothing better for me than freshly baked biscuits with my tea. So I tend to go for either sugar cookies or shortbread. I actually made them for my Nan and Aunt for Christmas as a present as they were hosting Christmas and Boxing Day dinner this year.

It is a very simple recipe and there isn’t much to it which makes it easy for everyone to make, so even if you are a baking novice all you need to do is combine the ingredients and put them on your tray. Continue reading to get the recipe.

I actually made this shortbread for my nan’s birthday as she loved the shortbread I made over Christmas. The thing is I used this Jamie Oliver Recipe at Christmas and the biscuits didn’t spread like they did this time around with the James Martin recipe I wanted to try. That being said a friend who loves to bake suggested that I used a cake tin for my shortbread as it has sides so the biscuit can’t spread like it did this time, after I put it on a flat tray.

IMG_3774

Ingredients: 

175g of unsalted butter

225g of flour

60g of caster sugar

tsp of vanilla extract

pinch of salt

Method:

1. Dice the butter and put into a mixing bowl to soften a little. Sift over the flour, caster sugar, salt and vanilla extract. Rub together with your fingertips and form the mixture into a ball.

2. Lightly flour the work surface. Roll out the shortbread and cut into strips approximately 4cm wide and 10cm long. Lay the biscuits out on a greased baking sheet and prick the surfaces all over with a fork. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.

3. Preheat the oven to 180C/gas 4.

4. Sprinkle sugar over the shortbread then bake for 8 minutes, or until firm to the touch. Cool before removing from the baking sheet. Dust with caster sugar before serving

Leave a Reply

