Game of Thrones: a little rant…

Hi Guys. I just feel the need to rant tonight so if there are some spelling or grammar mistakes forgive me. If you know me I am a big fan of the A Song of Ice and Fire series and subsequently HBO’s Game of Thrones but the latest season (5) has had me questioning my loyalty.

HBO via Timeout

 

I know that the books and the TV show are two completely separate entities and that they can not be the same because of scheduling, budget and platform etc. That is not the problem but it is the way they are changing it, first Arianne Martell isn’t there and she is a major badass female character and then Sansa’s marriage to Ramsey Snow/Bolton which I HATE. It isn’t even about the ‘rape scene’ that has everyone up in a tizzy it is the fact that her storyline has taken such a detour that it seems that the writers just don’t give a shit about the source material. I know that they can’t keep it completely to the source material but I don’t know if they went about changing it the right way.

AWOIAF

So Arianne Martell, she is a powerful female character that has been forgotten and replaced by her little brother Trystane who has been cited as the ‘heir of Dorne’ in the credits. This is a major blow to her character and Dorne itself (good thing we see some Sand Snakes).

As a woman I loved that George RR Martin writes strong female leads, something that we can lack in the world of literature. She could inherit her father’s throne she was confident, she didn’t need a man, she embraced her sexuality and wasn’t bound and governed by the rules of a more strict society and she owned it. She is quite a major plot player in the later books I can’t help but feel that this is just another sad reminder of the deviations we are seeing.  She was a character I would have loved to see bought to life, Val the Wildling is another strong female character that I don’t think we will see.

Brightest Young Things

My other chagrin is the way Sansa’s plot has changed so dramatically. I mean WTF why the frack did you marry her off to RAMSEY BOLTON?????????? I am so angered by the fact that they changed the whole dynamic of her character and basically had her raped, it just seemed so unnecessary we know Ramsey is a bad guy it really doesn’t need to reiterated again does it?

Entertainment Weekly

The actors; Sophie Turner, Iwan Rheon and Alfie Allen did a wonderful job but I feel like it was another shock tactic that the show didn’t need. The runners must be aware that they have a loyal fan base but are they pushing a step to far? Bryan Cogman had this reply when asked about the scene “This isn’t a timid little girl walking into a wedding night with Joffrey. This is a hardened woman making a choice, and she sees this as the way to get back her homeland. Sansa has a wedding night in the sense she never thought she would with one of the monsters of the show. It’s pretty intense and awful and the character will have to deal with it.” ‘hardened woman’ is not the choice of words I would use watching that scene would you? You can watch it here.

That being said I would like to point out that I do appreciate some of the changes such as Talisa, as Robb Stark’s wife as I like that he was happy and in love with Talisa which wasn’t really the case with Jeyne in the books as she survives.

 

After writing this down I have calmed slightly, I am not going to boycott the show for the simple reason I want to see where they go with this and how they will ‘remedy’ the situation. I just hope she doesn’t end up pregnant I don’t think that will make me any warmer to the plot changes. Lets see where this goes together … will someone hold my hand? I just hope that George RR Martin will finish the book series before he dies?

Lets have a cute Nymeria gif, to make ourselves feel better…

HBO via The Gloss

What do you think of the latest season, past seasons or characters in Game of Thrones? Let me know in the comments below?

Leave a Reply

