Books that made me cry ….

Clearly I am an emotionless drone as I while writing this post I realised I don’t cry at books that much. I have had friends come up to me and ask “Did you cry at (insert sad book here)?” and when I answer no I feel so heartless. One of my friends yelled at me and called me ’emotionally constipated’ (she was pregnant and a little hormonal so I will forgive her). I would like to point out that it is not like I don’t feel any emotions, I do. I just sometimes don’t get all teary eyed.

However there are three books that I have definitely cried over (some books on my Goodreads list I read a long time ago but I don’t remember blubbing)

1. Just Kids by Patti Smith (X)

This is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. It is an all time favourite of mine. It is Patti Smith’s first autobiographical piece of prose looking at her relationship with photographer Robert Mapplethorpe. Apart from the hauntingly beautiful writing the last chapter of this books is heartbreaking and it actually makes tears well in my eyes just thinking about.

Giphy

Buy at Amazon

2. Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (X)

I think this is a book that makes most people cry I LOVE Charlie and his journey is an emotional roller-coaster in it’s own right but the big moment in this book made me sob. I remember this because I was on the train (where I read all my emotional material for some reason) and as a I was silently sobbing a lady actually came up to ask me if I was okay and like any true book enthusiast I pointed to the book and made nosies. Needless to say she nodded wearily and left.

New Girl via Hello Giggles

Buy at Amazon

3. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare (X)

Oh the WillxJemxTessa feels!!!!! I love these characters and The Infernal Devices is one of my favourite YA series. If you have read Clockwork Princess you know the feels and all the emotions that come barrelling at you at the end of this novel.

Brooke Crying

One Tree Hill

Buy at Amazon

So with that being said most of the time I am pretty sure I look like this …

Dr Who via Tumblr

What books made you cry? Let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

