Keep Calm with these Carry On Essentials

IMG_4104

As someone who travels at least once a year, I know it can be a right pain in the ass to pack and a nightmare to actually figure out what you really need to take with you. Overpacking is a sin we are all guilty of at least once in our lives and as we travel more we learn how to cut down our luggage – most of the time. There are three things I pack for when I pack my carry on Comfort, Entertainment and Beauty. It helps me if I divide the things I take with me into sections and packing cubes/bags, so it may help you as well.

I am not going to insult your intelligence and tell you ‘essentials’ are items like your passport and money but there are things that I feel are essentials to my travel plans…

Pack for Comfort 

IMG_4118

1. Fluffy Socks

2. Scarf 

3. Oversized Sweater 

4. Snacks

5. Sunglasses  

For me comfort when travelling is key. It gets super cold on the plane and I like to make sure I am going to stay warm regardless of the length of time I am on the plane. Anything more than an hour means I make sure I am prepared to be freezing.

This means I take a oversized sweater, fluffy socks and a scarf as it is a versatile piece. You can use a scarf as a blanket and a pillow on the plane if you don’t want to take a neck pillow if you aren’t flying for a long period of time. I always pack my sunglasses in my carry on, to hide tired eyes or for a sunny destination so I don’t blind myself.

I have a love/relationship with plane food, so I always take dry food that I know that I can eat without feeling sick.

Pack for Entertainment 

IMG_4113

1. iPad

2. Books and Magazines

3. Headphones

4. Camera (not pictured)

Keeping entertained on a plane can be hard especially if like me you are constantly connected to the internet. This is why I like to make sure I have a selection of devices and things to keep me entertained. I take both electronics and non-electronics because god forbid you aren’t allowed to use them or they die.

My iPad is a relatively new travel companion and I load it with podcasts and movies to keep me entertained on the flight especially if I don’t like the in flight movie. It is also handy to keep up to date with my emails. I always take my book on the plane, I am taking Lullabies By Lang Leav on the plane as well as the latest edition of Traveller magazine.

Pack for Beauty 

IMG_4127

1. Lip Balm 

2. Hand Cream and Moisturiser 

3. Hair Bands and Pins 

4. Mascara and Lipstick 

5. Nail File 

I can’t get on the plane without having some basic beauty products on me, to combat the effects of the air conditioning on the plane I always take lip balm, hand cream, and small moisturiser – the blessing of samples.

I also take some hair ties and pins if I want to get my hair of my face as it is quite heavy I never wear it up when I leave but after spending some time on the plane sometimes I will put it up while I am on there. Mascara and Lipstick are my two essential make up products so I want to take them with me if I need to look less like a zombie when I get off my flight.

Just make sure all your liquids and pastes etc. fit into the guidelines for the country your leaving and arriving at.

UK … USA … EU

Leave a Reply

