Books to Read for Halloween…

The month of October for me is the month of spooky, supernatural and weird and wonderful reads. I don’t usually theme my TBR list (or make a TBR list) but I wanted to read some horror novels last year and failed spectacularly, so I decided to make my TBR this month specific. My TBR includes Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs, The Tinder Box by Hans Christian Anderson, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley and The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe. Hopefully I will be able to get hold a copy of Dracula by Bram Stoker as well.

She is the Revolution 

While I was researching my list I came across a Buzzfeed article of 18 horror films that were based on books so you can check that list out here.

1. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs

This is the book I am currently reading, I heard so many good things about it but didn’t really know much about it. When I saw it for £1 in my local charity shop I had to have it. I have not been disappointed so far. The Peculiar Children and monsters alike are fascinating to read about and the images bring the right amount of creepy.

2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

Pinterest

This is also on my October TBR. I’ve heard many a good thing of this novel as a classic and gothic novel. It is also widely considered one of the first sci-fi novels. I love gothic fiction and Halloween is the perfect time to indulge in the genre.

3. Anything by Stephen King

bloody-disgusting

Stephen King has made his name with horror and fantasy and his horror novels are extremely popular. I have read Carrie and as it is one of my favourite horror films I worried about not liking it but I LOVED it. Stephen King’s writing style is beautiful to read and there are plenty to choose from and I doubt you’ll be disappointed with what you choose. Check out Den of Geek’s Top 10.

4. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Amazon

Alice in Wonderland with more soul sucking. This is a dark fantasy novel, that makes us realise that our everyday lives may not be so bad after all. Especially if our other mother has anything to say about it. Gaiman is known for his horror/dark fantasy novels, so if Coraline isn’t your cup of tea there are other options to go for.

5. Horns by Joe Hill

J for Jetpack

This slightly macabre novel has always intrigued me, and this is more on the crime side of gothic fiction. After Ig’s girlfriends murder, he wakes with diabolical powers and horns from his head, what isn’t intriguing about that?

6. Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris

Too Many Posts

Tonight’s entrée is human liver. Would you like that well done? Silence of the Lambs is the second novel in the Hannibal and it probably the most well-known thanks to the movie starring Jodie Foster and Anthony Hopkins. Red Dragon is the first novel in the series if you want to read that one first. It is followed by Hannibal and Hannibal Rising

7. Dracula by Bram Stoker

The Edge SUSU

What Halloween list would be complete without vampires. I know this is another classic but there is a reason they have been around so long. I am interested in reading this novel as it is told in an epistolary form – through a series of documents such as letters, diary entries and newspaper clippings.

8. Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin

Identity Theory

Of course we must not forget the anti-christ! Rosemary’s Baby is another classic and well know horror film, but we are talking novels. This is a physiological horror film focusing on satanic coven’s and anti-christ babies (who doesn’t love that).

9. The Woman in Black by Susan Hill

I Heart Reading

I have seen the movie and watched the show on stage – yes I peed my pants. It is a horror novella written in the classic gothic style. I loved the stage show and the movie was okay and I feel that the novella will better than the movie. I have the sequel but not the original which I want to get my hands on.

10.  The Raven by Edgar Allen Poe

Mal Jones

Although not a novel, Poe’s narrative poem is a popular spooky text. The raven is associated with death and therefore the bird of choice during the spooky season. I am a big fan of Poe’s supernatural, gothic style of work and will be reading The Raven over the next few weeks in the run up to Halloween.

 

Leave a Reply

