Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

IMG_0119

Blurb: 

A mysterious island.
 
An abandoned orphanage.
 
A strange collection of very curious photographs.
 
It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive. A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

Watch the book trailer here…

I have heard good things about  Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children especially with quite a good write up in the Book blogging community. So when I spotted it in my local charity shop for £1 I knew I had to pick it up especially as it was in near on perfect condition. I can honestly say it was one of the best £1 I have spent and I am super excited to get my hands on the next to books in the series Hollow City and Library of Souls. If you didn’t know Miss Peregrine’s is being made into a film, directed by Tim Burton and starring Eva Green as Miss Peregrine and Asa Butterfield as Jacob. Finger’s crossed Burton does it justice.

I went into this story not really knowing what it was about. I don’t really know if that was to my advantage or not but after reading the synopsis I did feel that it could be misinterpreted by some readers. If your looking for a truly frightening read then this isn’t the book for you. Its more eerie than frightening but it does have some spooky moments. It is more dark fantasy than horror in my opinion but it is a YA so I do get why it’s not as scary as some of the horror novels I like to read. So bare that in mind when picking it. I know some people found it a long read and I found it a chore up until about Chapter 5, when I feel that the story really begins, as the previous chapters are obviously setting up the story line. There were definitely twists I didn’t see coming and I am definitely excited to see where the trilogy will progress. I flew through the rest of the book.

I love the use of creepy old photo’s in the novel, it is something I haven’t seen before in a novel and I love what it adds to the story. The images are beautifully selected and Riggs obviously took time and care when choosing them. I find them fascinating to look at and I really enjoyed what they added to the story.  Sometimes having images given to you can limit the imagination. I don’t think I had that problem with the images, most of the time they inspired my imagination and my own version’s of the character’s rather than completely form the faces of the characters.

I don’t think their was a character in the book I didn’t like. Jacob is the main character of the novel and I feel he was very well written and I feel like Riggs kept in mind that he had decisions to make and the turmoil that that can cause. He didn’t just jump in without no debate or consideration for others which I liked. I tend to find that characters just jump in without thought of the consequences.

The Peculiar children were also very interesting and Riggs allowed us to see glimpses of their characters even if they weren’t a constant fixture of the story. So you knew things about the minor characters as well, they weren’t just surplus to requirement which I liked. I feel like everyone was important no matter the size of their role.

(Minor spoilers Ahead …)

There is always a debate in YA fiction wether or not characters are written as too mature for their age. At 16, I feel like the tragic circumstances Jacob went through justifies his slightly more mature behaviour. He went through the emotional experience of watching a loved one die in a tragic manor, that can put a lot of things in perspective and I feel like that is what happened to Jacob. I also read some mixed views on the maturity on the children, they obviously look younger than they are emotionally and mentally and that obviously shows in the way they conduct themselves. I mean they have been alive for around 80 years they obviously grow each day mentally if not physically.

I LOVE the idea of loops and that their are so many of these loops all over the world and scattered through time. It is a type of time travel in this book that isn’t too far fetched. There are consequences to travelling to and fro and its not like you can go anywhere in and instant.

I wasn’t to sure about the relationship between Emma and Jacob. I love both their characters individually but together I am unsure if it was a good choice. I don’t know if this is because Emma and Jacob’s grandfather Abraham were also romantically involved in the past that I feel that she might be using Jacob. It’s a difficult one to gage, but it isn’t completely off putting and I am interested to see how it will play out.

Overall I really enjoyed this novel, its like nothing I have seen before and I love what the photo’s add to the novel. I would definitely recommend the novel to other YA fantasy lover and like I mentioned earlier I am looking forward to continuing on with the trilogy and see how the world develops.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

