T5W: Books to Read by the Fire (winter/holiday recommendations)

Welcome back to another Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at Ginger Reads Lainey. Here is a link to the Goodreads page if you want to join in on the fun.

This week the topic is Books to Read by the Fire or Winter/Holiday recommendations. We don’t have a real fire, but we do have an electric one which is nice to put on every now and then. It’s also lovely to put all the Christmas tree lights on, light a couple of candles and settle down with a cup of hot chocolate or tea under a pile of blankets with a good book. So here are my winter/holiday recommendations…

5. My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

This is my currently reading novel and I am loving it so far. It is perfect if you don’t want to read one long Christmas novel and are a fan of YA Contemporary. I am also excited to read some of the authors I have heard about but not read any of their work so I think this will encourage me to read more work by them as well. Its a warm and cozy YA read and will be perfect to curl up with.

Naturally Steph

4. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell 

I have just finished this novel and I am very tempted to re-read the entire thing in one sitting when I have a couple of free days next week and just avoid my laptop for the day. It’s a warming story and like Harry Potter is has a beautiful Christmasy scene that makes me all gooey. I shall let you guys know if I do a re-read on Twitter.

Bustle

3. Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan 

This is by far my favourite Christmas YA read. I love to re-read it every year. It’s a warm and fuzzy YA read and is perfect for New York and Book lovers.

Becky’s Blog

2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

I love to re-read a classic in the winter and my favourite is Pride and Prejudice. Lizzy and Darcy are one of my favourite couples they are funny and it’s a love story and it perfect for cozying up by the fire.

The Book Slooth

1. Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling

Christmas or Winter is the perfect time to re-read the first Harry Potter novel. It is the first Christmas at Hogwarts and Harry’s first Christmas where he is having fun and feels loved. It’s poignant and gives me lots of warm feelings.

The Guardian

 

Leave a Reply

