TV Series I want to start in 2016

I haven’t really watched much TV over the last month or so but as 2016 rolls around their are some TV Shows that I want to watch/ continue on with in the new year. There are obviously a lot more I am sure I will be drawn to watch this year coming and hopefully 2016 will be the year I finally bring myself to watch Season 7 of Sons of Anarchy (so many feels).

ABC Family

Jessica Jones 

This is a new Netflix original series based on a Marvel character. Jessica is a former superhero who decides to reboot her life by becoming a private investigator. It stars Krysten Ritter as Jessica Jones and David Tennant who I believe is the series antagonist. I don’t really know much about this series but I have seen the trailer on Netflix and it looks pretty interesting.

Shadow Hunters: The Mortal Instruments

Shadow Hunters is a new tv series based of the best selling book series The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. They already made a movie starring Jamie Campbell Bower and Lily Collins which I loved so I want to see if the TV Series is just as good. I think it does differ from the original texts but I am excited to see where freeform (formerly ABC family) will take it. Plus it has Malec!!! It airs on Jan 12th 2016 and has a run of 13 episodes.

Luther

I have only just seen the trailer for season 4 of Luther but have found it on Netflix so I am hoping to cathc up as it seems really interesting and Season 4 has Rose Leslie starrting (Ygritte from Game of Thrones). Luther is a British crime drama series aired originally on the BBC. Idris Elba stars as the main character who is described as obsessive, possessed, and sometimes violent. I am hoping that the trailer does the show justice.

Arrow

This is another superhero series but this time from the DC universe. It follows Oliver Queen’s return to Starling City after being shipwrecked on a mysterious island, rekindling his relationships and status as well as his crusade as a ‘hooded vigilante’. I have seen odd scenes and maybe one or two episodes so I will be excited to see if I like it in order. Also Stephen Amell is HOT!!!

iZombie

This is a show of Netflix which kind of caught my eye. This is the synopsis on the internet ‘When over-achieving medical resident Liv Moore attends a party that turns into a zombie feeding frenzy, she ends up joining the ranks of the living dead. Determined to pass as human despite her pale appearance and newly listless demeanor, Liv forms a plan to resist her drive to consume fresh human brains by taking a job at a coroner’s office, where she can secretly snack on the brains of corpses delivered there. Soon discovering that she absorbs the memories of those she feeds on, she finds new purpose by posing as a psychic and working with a detective to help solve their murders.’ I recognise a few of the actors, and the trailer looks pretty good so I think this will be another wait and see show. 

Peaky Blinders

Peaky Blinders is a gangster family epic set in Birmingham, England, in 1919, just after the First World War. The story centres on the Peaky Blinders gang and their ambitious and highly dangerous boss Tommy Shelby. This is another BBC series that I have been eyeing up for a while. Also Tom Hardy is in the second series!!!

Season 9 of GMM

For those of you who didn’t known GMM stands for Good Mythical Morning a youtube channel run by Rhett and Link. I began watching at the beginning of the year but then didn’t really continue on with it. They post Monday to Friday and their content varies and I always find it really funny and its a great way to end the evening.

4 thoughts on “TV Series I want to start in 2016

  1. Panda says:

    Ah I can’t wait for Shadowhunters. Alas I’m not from the US so I don’t really know how I can watch it… Ooh and I’ve heard of Luther a lot – the pictures I’ve seen remind me a bit of Broadchurch… 😛

Leave a Reply

