Top 10 Books of 2015

Wow that was certainly harder than I thought it was going to be.

My list does not include re-reads and only one book per series in allowed on this list because you know I like to make things hard for myself. So overall I read 60 books in the year of 2015 after my goal of 50. I did read some really good books this year and some not so good books this year. I am hoping that I will look back on my 2016 reading list and appreciate it more than I did this year. So without further ado here are my favourite books of 2015.

1. Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder

Why has it taken me so long to start reading this series!!! It was amazing, I loved it. I haven’t read many re-tellings but this has sold me on the genre. I love the way Marissa Meyer writes, and tells the story and the way she develops her characters. I had lots of feels while reading this books. Definitly lives up to the hype.

Goodreads Rating: 

2. Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (X)

Bustle

I read this book twice this month so of course it was going to be high up on my list. I love Rainbow Rowell and this book is amazing. It is my first LGBTQ+ novel and I want to read more!!!! The novel is told from multiple perspectives and is so well written like all Rainbow Rowell novels and you fall in love with the characters.

Goodreads Rating: 

3. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas (X)

I also read Throne of Glass this year but while I liked it, the second book had a lot more action and kind of launches the series. I love the characters in this series and will definitly catch up with the rest of the series in 2016. Its a wonderful series and Sarah J Maas has a really easy writing style to read.

Goodreads Rating: 

4. Dirty Pretty Things by Michael Faudet

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Speak of the Angel.com

This is the only poetry book on my list; which is surprising as I really enjoy a good collection of poetry. I really like Faudet’s writing style. It is funny, enjoyable and slightly crude. This is definitely a collection that divides opinions but I feel that is a beautifully written collection of poetry, prose, quotes and little short stories.

Goodreads Rating: 

5. The Course of True Love (and First Dates) by Cassandra Clare

This was my favourite novella in The Bane Chronicles – a series of novellas based around the character of Magnus Bane from The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series. Magnus and Alec (Malec) are my OTP . I LOVE THEM. This is a cute and adorable little novella of their first date. Alec is adorably awkward and Magnus is funny and a little wary of the situation and I think its is just fantastically written.

Goodreads Rating: 

6. My True Love Gave To Me edited by Stephanie Perkins

A beautiful collection of YA contemporary short stories based around the holiday period. I really enjoyed a lot of the stories and it has encouraged me to read some more work by a couple of the authors from the collection. It was a fluffy christmasy read which was perfect to read in the run up to Christmas.

Goodreads Rating: 

7. A Cowboy’s Touch  by Denise Hunter

I have a bit of a thing for Cowboy’s so when I found this novel I instantly wanted to pick it up. I loved the premise and enjoyed the whole A Big Sky Romance companion series. This was by far my favourite though. The characters were well written and fun to read. I didn’t realise that is was published by a faith publishers but Denise Hunter although mentioned faith – going to Church on a Sunday. It was not overwhelming which I enjoyed.

Goodreads Rating: 

8. Wonder by R J Palacio (X)

I had heard such good things about Wonder and I am so glad I finally picked it up as it was a really warming read. This is  not a book I would tend to go for as it is a middle-grade novel. However the varying perspectives gave the story a unique perspective and the overcoming of challenges was a nice and I have enjoyed the short novellas I have also read surrounding the characters and story.

Goodreads Rating: 

9. Saga Vol 4 by Brian K Vaugn and Fiona Staples

I have read a couple of graphic novels this year – although in 2016 I would like to pick up some more. Out of all of them this year this was by far my favourite. The whole story of Saga and the art is absolutely beautiful, from the colour to the characters and I am very tempted to re-read vol 1-4  before I pick up the latest release vol 5 and with any luck the next collection will be available by the end of the year.

Goodreads Rating: 

10. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (X)

IMG_0119

I found this book in a charity shop and I am so glad I picked it up. It was a really interesting read and once you got past the first few chapters the story flew by for me and the addition of the images was something I really enjoyed, although that might not be for everyone. I liked the characters and the plot was interesting and hopefully I will read the rest of the series in 2016.

Goodreads Rating: 

Leave a Reply

