February Illumicrate Box

I love books! Did you know that about me? Anyway in America they have a much selection of book subscription boxes that always look awesome but the shipping costs are something that I refuse to pay. Anyway I heard about Illumicrate back in November when they started and I thought they sounded interesting and I thought the selection of things in the November box was great.

Illumicrate are a quarterly subscription box based in the UK. The cost of the box is £29.99 and if you live in the UK P+P is free. I was unsure about the price tag of the box but the american ones come in at $29.99 so the difference isn’t that drastic and as it isn’t a monthly expenditure I feel that I can justify it four times a year. I will definitely sign up for the may box as  May is my Birthday month (Happy Birthday to me).

All Products 2

The box contains 1 new release and 5 bookish items from various companies, mostly the products are made exclusively for the box.

 

Truthwitch

This months book was Truthwitch by Susan Dennard which makes me very happy I didn’t go out and buy it was I had planned. It was one of my anticipated released on 2016 and I am happy to have received a copy. I am not a massive fan of the UK dust jacket – the book is just plain blue with the title printed on the spine – I prefer the US version but looking at it, it isn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. I am excited to read this novel and am happy with the selection. A signed bookplate, postcard and bookmark with a design from the book also came in the box.

Bookish Extras

The second items is a bookcase pouch by Elena O’Neil which is adorable and I will be using it if I ever become a teacher as it is about a pencil case size. Its a lovely hand painted design. They retail for £8.00 on Elena’s Etsy store (X). It’s a  well made product that I will be able to use.

Bookcase Pouch

Of course you can’t have books without a bookmark set and how better to read about your OTP that by using these fricking adorable Loveboat Set designed exclusively for Illumicrate by Beedoo (X). I can’t deal with how cute this little ship is and the little heart is just as sweet. Their bookmarks retail for about £2.48 on average.

Bookmarks

Of course while reading ambience is key and scented ones are a must. Simple Candle Co (X) have designed a lovely scented candle called Darker Scent of London which I got ‘Black London’ – I assume they have a few scents? – based on V E  Schwabs A Darker Shade of Magic novel. The jar in the box is probably a little smaller than half the size of the ones that the company smells normally which retail at £12.00. It smells divine , its a musky herby scent which I love but I can’t tell you what is actually in it.

Candle

You can’t go wrong with stationary (seriously books and stationary are two of my favourite things) and these pencils from Pobble and Ping (X) are quite cute they are in bright colours printed with cute bookish phrases ‘I’d rather be reading’ , ‘A good book has no ending’ and ‘Read. Write. Repeat’. I unboxed set of four pencils comes in a £3.99 at their store.

Pencils

That’s not all my friends their were some extras in this months box including a tote bag and bookmark advertising The It Girl by Katy Birchall, a lemonade recipe from My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick and something about publishing in Jan but it was publsihed in 2012 so … and a bookmark and set of pins/badges advertising The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman.

Extras

My final impression of this box is positive and I did enjoy opening it. I am not judging them on the book cover but I don’t think I was impressed as I hoped I was going to be. I don’t think that I got more than the money I paid for the box though which is slightly disappointing as with other boxes I feel that you can. I think I will pick up the next box to see how they vary as I did like what I received. I honestly would  recommend picking up this box if you are in the UK as out of all the options available Illumicrate is definitely the best UK option I have seen x

One thought on “February Illumicrate Box

  1. Pingback: February Round Up

Leave a Reply

