T5W: Biggest Book Hangovers

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at Ginger Reads Lainey. Here is a link to the Goodreads page if you want to join in on the fun.

This weeks topic is Biggest Book Hangovers. The Urban Dictionary definition states that a book hangover is “when you’ve finished a book and you suddenly return to the real world, but the real world feels incomplete or surreal because you’re still living in the world of the book.” So I thought about the books that made me think about issues, worlds that I never want to leave and books that impacted me and this is the list that we got.

5. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I loved this book and Cath’s journey and it really resonated with me. I wanted more of her story and life without a doubt. She is one of my favourite Rowell characters.

Goodreads

4. Perks of Being a Wallflower By Stephen Chbosky

Charlie’s story was heartbreaking and beautifully written. I was reading this on the train and a woman came up to me to see if I was okay. I had a lot of feel after reading this story. Chbosky wrote the story beautifully and I didn’t see the twist coming.

Amazon.co.uk

3. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This didn’t give me as much of a book hangover as it really made me think about the issues that were present in this novel. I fell in love with Lousia and Will and their struggles. The story has stuck with me and made me think and I don’t think a story has resonated with me like that before.

woman around town

2. Just Kids by Patti Smith

OMG this is one of the most heartbreaking memoirs I have ever had the pleasure to read. This is one of my favourite books ever and is so resonate with the the challenge of overcoming your own demons and finding the inspiration to carry on. Ugly crying on the train also occured.

Amazon

1. Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows by J.K Rowling

I think a lot of people suffered with a book hangover when the Harry Potter series ended not only was this the closing of a major part of my childhood but some of the deaths and plot twists in this stories hit you hard man. This is a world at the age of 24 I am still wholly invested in.

Wikipedia

Leave a Reply

