T5W: Rainy Day Reads

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at Ginger Reads Lainey. Here is a link to the Goodreads page if you want to join in on the fun. However Lainey is stepping down and Sam from Thoughts on Tomes is now taking over.

This weeks topic is our favourite rainy day reads. For me a rainy day read is a book that makes me feel warm and cozy, something that I can curl up on the sofa and and get lost in for the day. For me that is something that is warm, mushy or brings back nostalgic feelings of childhood.

best animations

5. Dirty Pretty Things by Michael Faudet

amazon

I love poetry, its something that I really enjoy reading and for me curling up with some beautiful poetry is a lovely way to pass the time. Michael Faudet has a wonderful poetry collection, it’s beautiful and a little bit dirty.

4. Wedding Season by Katie Fforde

amazon

Katie Fforde novels are a little bit of a guilty pleasure for me. She rights typical chick lit that I really enjoy reading. Her writing style is really easy to read and Wedding Season is the first novel I picked up by her and I fell in love with it and I like to pick it up when the weather isn’t so great.

3. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Penguin

If the weather is truly miserable outside then I tend to go for a novel that I can really get lost in and for me a old favourite classic is a perfect thing to pick up. I love Jane Eyre it is one of my favourite classics and the gothic elements of the novel mix perfectly with a stormy day.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell 

amazon

This is a novel that is just light and fluffy something which I really enjoy. It’s a light contemporary YA romance that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside and is a perfect read to curl up in bed with.

1. Harry Potter and The Philosipher’s Stone by J K Rowling

Wikipedia

There is nothing better on a rainy day than a bit of childhood nostalgia. I love re-reading the first book in this series. I love re-entering the world of Harry and his friends and reading about magic and Harry.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “T5W: Rainy Day Reads

  1. katie lou says:

    I love the Harry Potter books and have Fangirl To read! I am studying Jane Eyre for A Level so although the story is wonderful I have a love hate relationship due to the mass of essays!

Leave a Reply

