T5W: Most Intimidation Books

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at Ginger Reads Lainey. Here is a link to the Goodreads page if you want to join in on the fun. This group is now run by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes .

This weeks topic is your top 5 most intimidating reads. For me that can mean one of two things; the size of a book or if your worried it won’t live up to what you have heard about it. I have some books on my TBR shelf that I know I’ll probably enjoy but due to their intimidating size or they are so hyped I don’t want to be disappointed. I have chosen 5 books on my TBR shelf that I want to read but have yet to pick up.

5. Winter by Marissa Meyer

wikia

I love this series but I am not going to lie the final book in this series is a little bit intimidating for me as it is over 800 pages and I don’t want this series to end. I have heard wonderful things about the ending of this series and this is a more of a case of hype worry rather than size.

4. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

Amazon

We have another 800+ page book on our hands and just looking at the room this novel takes up on my shelf, is really blood scary. This is the Manbooker Prize winner of 2013 and I have heard such amazing things about this book but as it is not a genre I tend to go for, it does up the intimidation factor.

3. Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy

Penguin Random House

I loved Tess of the D’Urbervilles when I read it during my A Levels, but I am having trouble getting in the mood to read classics as of late. As much as I really want to get back in to classics I am having a hard time. I think I might re-read Jane Eyre as I know I love it. Far From the Madding Crowd is one of the larger classics in my collection and is probably the most daunting.

2. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Diana Gabaldon

I have heard such good things about this series, and the TV show looks amazing ( I have the first season on DVD although I have yet to watch it). However I have heard that the story is a little slow and for an almost 900 page book, it has meant I have put it off. I do want to pick it up and I do have it on my shelf.

1. IT by Stephen King (most books by Stephen King really)

i09

It is a 1126 page book! Yep thats a lot of pages.

Stephen King as an author that intimidates me all together but this and 11/22/63 are two of the most intimidating reads from King. I have read Carrie and as much as I enjoyed it I remember that it is a complex writing style and it just puts me off picking up more of his work even though I know I would enjoy it.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

