May Illumicrate Box Review

Illumicrate are a quarterly book based subscription box based in the UK. The cost of the box is £29.99 and if you live in the UK P+P is free.

IMG_4888

This is my second Illumicrate Box. I am again impressed with the amount of products in the box. Again the box contained 1 new release and five bookish items as well as a few extras. This months extras included some badges/pins, a Extract from Strange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor, a postcard from Mystery and Mayhem and a Cinnamon Muffin recipe and extract from The Square Root of Summer. 

The products in this box are really good quality and cute/adorable bookish items that I love. The only thing I was disappointed with was the mug as it was plastic but I can understand that china is fragile.

IMG_4900

The book in this months box was a paperback copy of When We Collided by Emery Lord a contemporary novel that was released at the beginning of April. I have see this book pop up on Bookstagram over the last month and I didn’t really know much about it. After reading the synopsis, I am intrigued with the novel and will probably pick it up over the summer. The book came with a signed book plate and postcards.

IMG_4898

One of my favourite bookish items in this box was the To Be Read List Notepad by Goodnight Boutique. I really like the little selections – TBR List, To Review and To Buy – for a book blogger/ booktuber it is a great little planning notebook. I don’t know what I am going to do with the  Ex Libris Stamp by Little Stamp Store but its so cute!!!!!! It’s a little fox asleep on top of a pile of books. I may see if I can purpose it for marking in my English Class next year?

IMG_4890

I like the typography of the Book Club Mug by The Art of Escapsim (I think this is the right store). However the mug is plastic and as much as I don’t have a problem with that I am probably not going to use it for the simple reason that I have plenty of china mugs to use that will be much easier to use. I am thinking of re-purposing it as a pen pot. This Bookworm Clip by My Bookish Mark is super cute and I will probably use it to mark my diary or lesson plans next year.

IMG_4895

One of my favourite items is this ‘Readers Gonna Read’ Pin by Literary Emporium. This is the only non exclusive item in the box and if you do want to pick one up for £7.50 click here. Its cute and perfect for any book lover. It would look cute on a blazer, denim jacket, bag or pencil case. It’s a really good quality products and I am obsessed with this store in general.

I really liked some of the products in this box and I felt like we got better value for money in this box. I have however cancelled my subscription; for monetary reasons more than I dislike the service. The service is lovely and the product is put together nicely but I need to save a bit of money and unfortunately I can’t afford to keep going with university. I think as the boxes continue to progress it will only get better.

This is definitly the best book box I have found in the UK, so if you are looking for a good box in the UK. I do recommend this box.

Leave a Reply

