The Coffee Book Tag

Black: Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

A Song of Ice and Fire by George R R Martin

rebloggy

These books are hefty tomes to read and that in itself is quite intimidating. These books can be hard to get into its a dense plot-heavy book. However, these books have a massive following and are popular for a reason they are great books.

Peppermint Mocha: Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or festive time of the year.

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

This book always pops up around Christmas time, this and Let it Snow and My True Love. Probably because they are the most popular YA Christmas books. I really enjoyed Dash and Lily and have read it a couple of times during the Christmas period.

Hot Chocolate: What’s your favourite children’s books?

The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley

I only read the abridged version of this as a child but I love it. I actually just found a full version in the charity shop in a lovely illustrated hardcover and I am super excited to read this cover. It’s a lovely book that I think is a beautiful story and I will be reading it to my own (eventual) children.

Double Shot of Espresso: Name a book that kept you on the edge of your seat from start to
finish.

Illuminae by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Illuminae

I loved this novel!!!! It’s unique and I really enjoyed the way the novel was told through emails, diary entries and accounts etc. It was fantastic, the ending was so tense and I stayed up to finish it because I just had to know how it ended. I am so excited for the second novel Gemina to come out.

Starbucks: Name a book that you see everywhere.

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

Ever since  A Court of Mist and Fury came out it’s been a constant on my Instagram feed. I haven’t read the first one but I have got a copy and do plan on reading it in the coming months. I have heard very good things about this novel and as seems to be a trend with Maas’ novels the second is the better of the two.

That Hipster Coffee Shop: Give a book by an indie author a shoutout.

Zero at the Bone by Jane Seville

I am sorry to admit that I don’t read a lot of indie authors (some but not a lot) but when I saw Zero at the Bone it really intrigued me and I finally bought a copy and loved it!!! It’s an M/M romance and I really enjoyed it.

Opps! I Accidentally Got Decaf: Name a book you were expecting more from.

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Karel-Online

I had such high hopes for this novel I loved the premise, the characters, the setting all of the build up the ending was such a letdown! I wanted to much more from the ending of this novel. I think that some of the plot was unneeded, it didn’t seem to have a purpose. Maybe this novel would have been better off as a duology.

The Perfect Blend: Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

The Harry Potter Series by J K Rowling

hellogiggles

This is always going to be a bittersweet series! It ended! This is the form of ultimate nostalgia for me and it is always a little bittersweet when the series ends again. Regardless of how many times I read this story I fall in love with the characters all over again, cry, laugh and travel with them. However, there is always the upcoming The Cursed Child and Fantastic Beasts.

Green Tea: Name a book or series that is quietly beautiful.

Lullabies by Lang Leav

This collection of poetry is beautiful. It is a mix of love and heartache and I think it has a quiet beauty about it because Leav chooses beautiful words to fit the subject of her poems. If you want to read some modern poetry this is a great choice.

Chai Tea: Name a book or series that makes you dream of  far off lands.

Howls Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

The world of Howls Moving Castle is so vibrant and colourful people and places, in all the novels in this series the worlds are so wonderfully created by Jones and I would just love to visit Ingary and if the Studio Ghibli film is anything to go buy it would be wonderful.

Earl Grey: Name your favourite classic.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

tumblr

To be honest this is probably a tie between Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre. However, I love a gothic classic and Jane Eyre is one of my favourites and as I read it for my A Levels and enjoyed it on a personal level as well I feel that I ought to give it a shout out.

Leave a Reply

