T5W: Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017

So I finally have some free time and I felt the urge to post so I decided to get back into Top Five Wednesdays this month.

Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey at Ginger Reads Lainey. Here is a link to the Goodreads page if you want to join in on the fun. This group is now run by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes .

This week’s topic is Books You Want to Finally Read in 2017. These are books that you have had on your shelves over the last few years (2014, 2015, 2016) and you haven’t gotten around to them and you really want to. This list doesn’t involve those books which are released in 2017.

5. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (X)

I have had this book for a while now and I keep meaning to pick it up but alas it has eluded me I have heard such wonderful things about du Maurier’s writing and that Rebecca seems to be a firm favourite so I am determined to pick this up in 2017

Teen Librarian

Teen Librarian

4. A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (X)

I read ACOTAR in the summer and loved it!  I wanted to read ACOMAF as soon as I got it (as soon as I finished the first novel) but unfortunately, life got in the way and I know I won’t be reading it before 2016 ends. I will however pick this up next year.

Goodreads

Goodreads

3. Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth (X)

I am obsessed with the Call the Midwife tv show and have always wanted to read the memoir in which it is based. I actually have all three books in the series to read but I will start. Hopefully, when the show comes back for season 6 in January I will be encouraged to pick up the book.

Amazon

Amazon

2. House of Many Ways by Diana Wynne Jones (X)

I absolutely adore Howls Moving Castle it is a book and movie that I can view again and again and will always enjoy. Jones creates a truly magical land with vibrant and entertaining characters. I loved the first and second books in the series and I am determined to finish the series and find out what shenanigans Sophie and Howl get themselves into this time around.

goodreads

goodreads

  1. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath (X)

I have wanted to read this book for years and it sits there never to be picked up and I am so disappointed with myself. I have never read anything by Plath and 2017 is the year that all changes. I don’t know all that much about the novel but I will be picking this book up.

Amazon

Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

