Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo Book Review

Tumblr

Tumblr

Blurb: 

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes


Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

OhMyGod!  I have literally just finished Six of Crows and I am in love. I so desperately want to read Crooked Kingdoms – the second and final book in the dualogy – but I feel a break might be good for me. I was swept away with this novel and was caught hook line and sinker into the fascinating world of Ketterdam. This is my first foray into the Grisha Universe having never read the original Grisha Trilogy (I also have no plans to read them at the moment) and I am in love with this duology.

It was a little slow to start off with as many people have said but once I got passed the first chapter I was hooked (I didn’t really enjoy it). The books in written from multiple perspectives of 5 of the main characters with the first and last from the POV of minor characters. I sometimes find that this can make a story disjointed and hard to follow but Bardugo wrote this novel beautifully the characters personalities shone through but flowed together to tell the story.

The plot of the novel is well paced and I found I didn’t want to put it down especially as I got to the last 100 pages. I also found it really easy to dive in and out of as I read it a lot on the train in short bursts. The plot was kind of predictable but it was broken up with the background of character which was done really effectively and I saw none of the twists at the end. I think I may have gotten whiplash.

NBC via Tenor

NBC via Tenor

There isn’t a pairing I don’t love so desperately! I fell in love with these characters as individuals, they are so well written and relatable for me. The are humans with flaws or struggles not because of their “occupation” but because they are human and weakness is a human trait. I love that. There are 6 main characters Kaz Brekker, Inej Ghafa, Nina Zenik, Matthias Helvar, Jesper Fahey and Wylan van Eck.

The Fandom

The Fandom

All these characters are wonderfully written and as I mentioned all have struggles they are dealing with and I think that their internal conflicts as they work together to break into the Ice Court are a lovely side story to the main action and I hope that I will get to continue to learn about their history in the second book. The women in this novel are just as strong as the men and they actively recognise that and rely on the female characters which I really like as it shows how powerful these women can be. The female characters also aren’t controlled by men or their emotions towards men and Nina embraces her sexuality in an empowering way.

I SHIP ALL THESE CHARACTERS SO HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just thought you ought to know.

BBC via Tenor

BBC via Tenor

Their relationships are just so wonderful, I love them all!!!!! I ship Nina and Matthias, Inej and Kaz and Wylan and Jesper!!!! Yes to all !!!!! Leigh Bardugodoes create very fleshed out characters and relationships that aren’t easy. I am especially fond of the friendship between Inej and Nina. They have a really lovely friendship and I hope to see more of it in the second book of the series.

Overall I 10/10 recommend this book. It is a very well written novel with diverse and interesting characters, an intriguing magic system and the plot is well written, full of twists and turns and is an experience that will draw you in and keep you hooked

Leave a Reply

